general
general
general
general
general
general
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau
The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau

The sleeping Gypsy - Henri Rousseau

Amazing to see a lion in a desert setting, isn't it? This naive painting, imagined by Henri Rousseau, does not lack disturbing elements. A lion, with exaggeratedly wide eyes, occupies the central place of the painting and comes to sniff a lying gypsy woman, with confusing pink hair. The moon, wearing a human face, seems to contemplate the scene while sprinkling the work with delicate reflections. This soft nocturnal luminosity gives the painting a poetic dreamlike atmosphere.

Select a size 50 x 70 cm
Select a frame None
view our framing solutions

Only left in stock

€ 399.00

Besoin d’assistance ?
Contactez-nous au
+41 22 552 25 01

Delivery
14 working days

Warranty
Certificate of authenticity included

Returns
Satisfied or your money back

Payment
100% secureM

L'œuvre en bref

Amazing to see a lion in a desert setting, isn't it? This naive painting, imagined by Henri Rousseau, does not lack disturbing elements. A lion, with exaggeratedly wide eyes, occupies the central place of the painting and comes to sniff a lying gypsy woman, with confusing pink hair. The moon, wearing a human face, seems to contemplate the scene while sprinkling the work with delicate reflections. This soft nocturnal luminosity gives the painting a poetic dreamlike atmosphere.

The artist

Henri Rousseau (1844 - 1910) was born in Laval in a modest environment. Nicknamed "Le Douanier" because of his profession, he painted in his free time. Self-taught, he tried to exhibit his work at the Salon Officiel but his paintings were rejected by a mocking jury, who qualified his paintings as clumsy, naive and primitive. While his contemporaries called him an amateur, he considered himself an innovator who broke the established codes. He swears that the naivety present in his works was acquired by his "persistent work". It was in 1884, thanks to the Salon des Indépendants, without jury or reward, that he finally exhibited and found his public. Portraits, cityscapes, exotic landscapes, Rousseau died, lonely and penniless, leaving behind a wide range of works.
Voir toutes ses œuvres

Compare with the original

Reproduction of The sleeping Gypsy by Henri Rousseau

Original
Reproduction

Features

Why choose Galerie Mont-Blanc ?

The words of Jean-Sébastien Altmann, certified expert in works of art

general
general
general
general
general
general
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau
La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau

La Bohémienne endormie - Henri Rousseau

Etonnant de voir un lion dans un décor désertique, n'est-ce pas ? Cette peinture naïve, imaginée par Henri Rousseau, ne manque pas d'éléments troublants. Un lion, aux yeux exagérément écarquillés, occupe la place centrale du tableau et vient flairer une bohémienne allongée, aux cheveux roses déroutants. La lune, affublée d'un visage humain, semble contempler la scène tout en parsemant l’œuvre de délicats reflets. Cette douce luminosité nocturne donne à la toile une atmosphère onirique poétique.

Choisissez votre taille 50 x 70 cm
Choisissez votre cadre Aucun
voir nos solutions d'encadrement

Seulement en stock

€ 399.00

Besoin d’assistance ?
Contactez-nous au
+41 22 552 25 01

Livraison
14 jours ouvrables

Garantie
Certificat d'authenticité inclus

Retour
Satisfait ou remboursé

Paiement
100% sécurisé

L'œuvre en bref

Etonnant de voir un lion dans un décor désertique, n'est-ce pas ? Cette peinture naïve, imaginée par Henri Rousseau, ne manque pas d'éléments troublants. Un lion, aux yeux exagérément écarquillés, occupe la place centrale du tableau et vient flairer une bohémienne allongée, aux cheveux roses déroutants. La lune, affublée d'un visage humain, semble contempler la scène tout en parsemant l’œuvre de délicats reflets. Cette douce luminosité nocturne donne à la toile une atmosphère onirique poétique.

L'artiste

Henri Rousseau (1844 – 1910) est né à Laval dans un milieu modeste. Surnommé «Le Douanier » en raison de sa profession, il peint durant son temps libre. Autodidacte, il essaye d'exposer son travail au Salon Officiel mais ses tableaux sont rejetés par un jury moqueur, qui qualifie ses peintures de maladroites, naïves et primitives. Alors que ses contemporains le traitent d'amateur, lui se considère comme un novateur qui casse les codes établis. Il jure que la naïveté présente dans ses œuvres a été acquise par son « travail opiniâtre ». C'est en 1884, grâce au Salon des Indépendants, sans jury ni récompense, qu'il exposera finalement et trouvera son public. Portraits, paysages urbains, paysages exotiques, Rousseau mourra, solitaire et désargenté, en laissant derrière lui un large éventail d’œuvres.
Voir toutes ses œuvres

Comparez avec l’original

Reproduction de La Bohémienne endormie de Henri Rousseau

Original
Reproduction

Caractéristiques de nos tableaux

Pourquoi choisir Galerie Mont-Blanc ?

Les paroles de Jean-Sébastien Altmann, expert agréé en œuvre d'art