general
general
general
general
general
general
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper

House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper

Literally trapped between the old and the new era, this majestic and imposing House embodies a pre-industrial building that Edward Hopper would long claim, like all his paintings, to be factual and devoid of emotion, whereas the contemplation of this painting demonstrates all the depth that the work of art can hide.

Blue as the sky, this one tries to blend its form into the background, further accentuating the duality between nature and industry, conservatism and progressivism. The copper-coloured railway underlines this fracture of a mansion that rises into the sky while cementing itself into modernism.

Disturbing and fascinating, it will never cease to inspire the Masters of Cinema until it becomes an emblem of Hopper.

Select a size 55 x 66 cm
Select a frame None
view our framing solutions

Only left in stock

€ 269.00

Besoin d’assistance ?
Contactez-nous au
+41 22 552 25 01

Delivery
14 working days

Warranty
Certificate of authenticity included

Returns
Satisfied or your money back

Payment
100% secure

The artwork in a nutshell

Literally trapped between the old and the new era, this majestic and imposing House embodies a pre-industrial building that Edward Hopper would long claim, like all his paintings, to be factual and devoid of emotion, whereas the contemplation of this painting demonstrates all the depth that the work of art can hide.

Blue as the sky, this one tries to blend its form into the background, further accentuating the duality between nature and industry, conservatism and progressivism. The copper-coloured railway underlines this fracture of a mansion that rises into the sky while cementing itself into modernism.

Disturbing and fascinating, it will never cease to inspire the Masters of Cinema until it becomes an emblem of Hopper.

The artist

In his early years, Hopper was a student of Robert Henri, head of the Ashcan School. Convinced that artists should portray precarious conditions, he promoted a bold urban realism. Although this teaching ended in 1906, Hopper continued to follow it throughout his career. From then on, as a solitary giant, he would detach himself from all the new artistic movements taking place in the background and take refuge in French literature and practice by painting impressionist panoramic views. Thus, a nascent formation in urban realism was introduced, whose brushstrokes would paint an instinctive movement devoid of judgment and sentimentality. An inveterate portraitist of melancholy, human detachment becomes the subject of his entire creative process. He will never cease to convey the confrontation between the desolate urban world and the haunting rurality. This fusion created a world of solitude and anguish, making him the most important American Naturalist of the 20th century.
Voir toutes ses œuvres

Compare with the original

Reproduction of House by the Railroad by Edvard Hopper

Original
Reproduction

Features

Why choose Galerie Mont-Blanc ?

The words of Jean-Sébastien Altmann, certified expert in works of art

general
general
general
general
general
general
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper
House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper

House by the Railroad - Edvard Hopper

Littéralement prise au piège entre l'ancienne et la nouvelle ère, cette Maison majestueuse et imposante incarne un bâtiment préindustriel que Edward Hopper revendiquera longtemps, au même titre que toutes ses peintures, comme factuelles et  dépourvus d’émotions, alors que la contemplation de cette peinture démontre toute la profondeur que l'œuvre d'art peut cacher. 

Bleue comme le ciel, celle-ci tente de fondre sa forme dans le fond, accentuant davantage la dualité entre la nature et l’industrie, le conservatisme et le progressisme. Le chemin de fer cuivré souligne cette fracture d’un manoir qui s’élève dans le ciel tout en se cimentant dans le modernisme.

Perturbante et fascinante, elle n’aura de cesse d’inspirer les Maîtres du Cinéma jusqu’à en devenir un emblème de Hopper.  

Choisissez votre taille 55 x 66 cm
Choisissez votre cadre Aucun
voir nos solutions d'encadrement

Seulement en stock

€ 269.00

Besoin d’assistance ?
Contactez-nous au
+41 22 552 25 01

Livraison
14 jours ouvrables

Garantie
Certificat d'authenticité inclus

Retour
Satisfait ou remboursé

Paiement
100% sécurisé

L'œuvre en bref

Littéralement prise au piège entre l'ancienne et la nouvelle ère, cette Maison majestueuse et imposante incarne un bâtiment préindustriel que Edward Hopper revendiquera longtemps, au même titre que toutes ses peintures, comme factuelles et  dépourvus d’émotions, alors que la contemplation de cette peinture démontre toute la profondeur que l'œuvre d'art peut cacher. 

Bleue comme le ciel, celle-ci tente de fondre sa forme dans le fond, accentuant davantage la dualité entre la nature et l’industrie, le conservatisme et le progressisme. Le chemin de fer cuivré souligne cette fracture d’un manoir qui s’élève dans le ciel tout en se cimentant dans le modernisme.

Perturbante et fascinante, elle n’aura de cesse d’inspirer les Maîtres du Cinéma jusqu’à en devenir un emblème de Hopper.  

L'artiste

À ses débuts, Hopper fut l’élève de Robert Henri, chef de l'école Ashcan. Persuadé que les artistes devaient rendre compte des conditions précaires, il promut un réalisme urbain audacieux. Bien que cet enseignement s’achève en 1906, Hopper continuera malgré tout de le suivre toute sa carrière. Dès lors, géant solitaire, il se détachera de tous les nouveaux mouvements artistiques se préparant en toile de fond pour se réfugier dans la littérature française et s'exercera en peignant des vues panoramiques impressionnistes. Ainsi, s’introduit une formation naissante au réalisme urbain dont les coups de pinceaux brosseront un mouvement instinctif dépourvu de jugement et de sentimentalité. Portraitiste invétéré de la mélancolie, le détachement humain devient le sujet de tout son processus créatif. Il n’aura de cesse de transmettre la confrontation entre l’univers urbain désolé et la ruralité obsédante. Cette fusion instaurera un univers de solitude et d'angoisse, faisant de lui le Naturaliste Américain le plus important du XXe siècle.
Voir toutes ses œuvres

Comparez avec l’original

Reproduction de House by the Railroad de Edvard Hopper

Original
Reproduction

Caractéristiques de nos tableaux

Pourquoi choisir Galerie Mont-Blanc ?

Les paroles de Jean-Sébastien Altmann, expert agréé en œuvre d'art